Sharing Defaced Photos

As someone who enjoys photography, and gets pleasure not only from sharing the photos I take, on sites such as Flickr, 500px, Instagram and Google+, but also from viewing the photos from all the great photographers I follow on those sites too.

I do have one major gripe when viewing other people’s photos – I hate seeing anything additional added, such as signatures, watermarks, borders etc., personally I find them very distracting and ruins any appreciation I may have had for that image.

Now this isn’t usually an issue for me, as I only follow the photographers I like that don’t deface their photos in that way. However, I do find myself coming across defaced photos fairly often when using one particular site, that being Google+.

This happens when someone I have in one of my circles shares a photo from a person that I don’t follow and it appears in my home stream. People in my circles are of course free to share what they choose, it would be useful though if I had the option to not see content shared in this way, either at an individual or circle level.

If enough people feel similarly about having a choice if to see shared content and submit feedback about this, hopefully Google+ will add this option. That way I could still see and appreciate the photos from people I have chosen to add to my circles, without having to see those that I have no interest in.

About the author

Paul Galbraith is a logo and brand identity designer, working with startups, small businesses and entrepreneurs in the UK, USA and beyond.